Obama Sends Forces to DR Congo!

In 2009, Secretary of State, Hilary Clinton visited Goma, DR Congo: about the same time I was in Congo on my first trip.

Since then, I’ve had high hopes that someone, anyone would take a stand against the devastating acts of violence carried out by the Lord’s Resistance Army’s (LRA) reign of terror in DR Congo.

Earlier this week, President Obama announced 100 Special Operations troops to the Congo and other areas to serve as advisors to the countries military forces. Africa’s mission is to defeat the rebel militia and the leadership of the LRA.

One hundred servicemen doesn’t sound like much. I can’t help but question why Special Ops would be publicly announced before the launch? I won’t be picky, I’ll take it.  I am so happy for this military intervention and official US recognition of the humanitarian problems in DRC.

Start the Conversation!

