The Longest Journey is Inside

In the beginning of my dream I had a scarcity attitude. I didn’t feel like I could afford to look up and see the hundreds, possibly thousands of charitable organizations that exist in our world. I told myself I couldn’t afford to care about anyone elses dream. Look at the ground and focus…focus. My desire provide services, care and love to the children of DRC was too strong, I looked up.

I’ve read very inspiring stories that started with next to nothing. I became amazed at these successful projects. These are only the external manifestations of growth, love, faith, trust and determination that lived and grew in the hearts of people who had very special dreams.

Now, I can’t get enough of these stories. I need these stories because I’m living one and it helps me know who and where I am. If it is possible for a mind and heart to reverse completely..to turn itself inside out…this is what I’ve done.  I may not be able to financially support 100+ projects but I can certainly offer my experience and refer contacts that have been helpful to me. I can jump in and be a part of a huge family of people who love life, love the natural world, love God, love humanity and every aspect of it.

There are so many stories. For example; the 80-year-old woman watching news in California about the Rwanda genocides. She thought the least she could do was be a figure in the lives of orphan children. Her dream became a famous orphanage. When she died, more than 300 people called her Mother.

Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it.
Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it.

– Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749 – 1832)

We read these stories all the time but never really think what it must have felt like to her walking back with the first children wondering how on Earth she would succeed? I have somehow convinced many friends that I will live in DRC and work with orphans there. The means and logical steps in that direction are unfolding before me. Each day I rise…I know I will follow my dream. Sharing my story with you is one step. Thank you for taking it with me.

Start the Conversation!

